The Brenton Blue Trust (BBT) was founded by Richard van Wyk in early 1997.


Representatives of the Trustees:

  • LepSoc – Ernest Pringle
  • WESSA – Lorna Watt
  • GKM – Dr Doris Nayler (acting, to be confirmed)
  • EWT – Dr Dave Edge
  • CapeNature – Allisdair MacDonald

Aims and Objectives of the BBT:

  1. Prevent the extinction of the Brenton Blue butterfly
  2. Promote its establishment in its previous habitats
  3. Support efforts aimed at conserving habitats necessary for the survival of other butterfly species and also other invertebrates, in the interests of preserving biological diversity
  4. To enlist the aid and service of individuals and organisations to raise funds on behalf of the BBT
  5. To promote nation-wide and international co-operation between individuals and organisations having aims similar to the BBT’s objectives
  6. In the furtherance of the objects of the Trust to seek representation on behalf of the Trust on such Executive Committees or Controlling Bodies of Societies and/or Organisations, be they private, public, governmental or otherwise, which tend to advance the objectives of the BBT
  7. To liase and work in conjunction with any other bodies anywhere in the world with objects and/or aims affiliated or similar to those of the BBT
  8. To appoint suitable advisers
  9. To receive donations and bequests from any source whatsoever and without limitation as to area, in and outside of South Africa
  10. To work for and obtain capital for the purpose of carrying out and furtherance of these objects; and
  11. To raise funds to finance projects tending to advance the objectives of the BBT.


The principal donations to the BBT to date have been:
Nedcor Limited R 175 300Purchased erf 442 and donated it to the BBT
The Habitat Council R 29 715General funding
The Green TrustR 60 000 To fund research
WESSAR 6 000 To fund maintenance

The Management Committee

The Trustees established the management committee on 12 September 1998, with the purpose of managing the butterfly reserve and facilitating research into the butterfly. The committee meets quarterly. The current members of the committee are:
Keith Spencer CapeNature (Chairman)
Dr Dave Edge LepSoc
Johan Huisamen CapeNature
Allisdair MacDonald CapeNature
Dr Doris Nayler GKM
Ernest Pringle LepSoc
Lorna Watt WESSA
Brian Young Honorary Curator & Treasurer